A literary afternoon in which I drink Cherry Tea

8 Dec

I’m feeling very literary in my living room with a cinnamon candle burning and a live, green, fantastic smelling Christmas tree in the corner. My cat is asleep, again, on the armchair under a blanket and I’m watching A Muppet Christmas Carol. Also note cherry tea and setting sunlight through the windows. This is a good afternoon. This is me. I have to get back to me.

I’m happy when I’m creating, but alas I haven’t done much of that lately. I’m not sure why. I’ve been preoccupied with computers, annoyingly professional applications and interviews, sleeping, and Red Dwarf. For awhile I thought this was not the economy to be happy and oneself, but I think, after all, I was wrong. One must create! One must read enjoyable material! One must buckle down and trust oneself above all others! One must be loud, proud, and unprofessional. Yes. I am by no means successful, but damnit I will not become a soulless vacuum that works in a cubicle towards some horrible goal. How can a person work for something they can’t get behind? I mean, obviously people do just this all the time, but I just can’t do it. I am seeking a balance between need and want.

So the revelation is that I need a job in either

a) a creative field

b) an educational field

c) a field

 

Now that you’ve read my fascinating and revelatory career wisdom I invite you to make nonsensical comments below as several spammers have done in the past.

Most cinnamonly,

Jen

5 Responses to “A literary afternoon in which I drink Cherry Tea”

  1. Tophie "Palmer Pink" Palmer December 9, 2010 at 2:15 PM #

    dude, this is gonna trip your balls

    your post made me think of chamomile tea. you thinking what i’m thinkin??

    QYCOLAX.

    I had a dream last night that we were all back at ‘stoga (well I was at least XD) for some reason or another. it was all fucky. like, the courtyard was styled all semi-post-apocalyptic. it was kinda trippy. I can’t even describe what they’d done to our greenhouse, dude.

    anyway, i need to make more time for my writing (and reading). I feel so much better when I actually do it, you know? meanwhile I need to go drum up some money to make my student loan payments >.<
    take care,
    ~Palmer

    • dietplaid December 10, 2010 at 11:57 AM #

      Haha, well Chamomile and Cherry both begin with ‘ch’, so you’re not too far gone. So is your tea cabinet overflowing? Ours keeps spewing boxes when we open it.

      Wait, wasn’t the courtyard always like that? Just kidding. I have to say that might be an improvement if at least that skunky tree that flowers is gone. It smelled awful, but looked pretty, so maybe your dream is on to something. The tree that caused the Conestoga Apocalypse?

      Yea, student loans are bothersome, I’ve just begun paying mine back. I do have the time to write, I just need the proper mood and space. I’ve grown partial to the dining room table by the window.

  2. Crepes of Wrath December 10, 2010 at 3:24 PM #

    I need a job in a field, too! :) I love the idea of a cinnamon candle – sounds relaxing.

  3. Brittany January 24, 2011 at 4:13 PM #

    Whoa! We have the same criteria for a job!! (except Education, unless it’s something professorial, I often wonder whether my “methods” would be admissible in anything below a college-age student body).

    Why does the world seem to think that the words “artist” and “career” are only used consecutively to make an oxymoron?

    Hopefully I can get enough of a foothold on his world to beg to differ. In a big way.

    And by looks of your jewelry skills, I think you have some serious potential to use those two aforementioned words together in one sentence without being ironic.

    • dietplaid January 24, 2011 at 10:44 PM #

      Thanks :) I certainly hope so.

Leave a Reply

