Putting the give in Thanksgiving

23 Nov

One of the most awkward parts of Thanksgiving is when we all say what we’re thankful for. Usually it sounds hokey, if not fake. Faux thanks? There are alot of things I’m thankful for, but I’m not inclined to list them all at the table. By the time I finish the stuffing will be cold and the green bean casserole will be gloppy. Nobody will thank me for that. So I’m giving thanks here, for all the world to see.

I’m thankful for Mike, Mom, Dad, my brothers, my friends, Weasley, kitties, Harry Potter, books, thick blankets, wool, blue moons, striped sunsets, red light in the evening on the trees in Chester County, chilly fall nights, scarves, apple cider, Great Britain, orchards, farms, cameras, soft tissues, knit hats, amaretto, the deer population…

I’m thankful for big things and little things. I’m thankful for my ability to trust my gut instincts, no matter how unpopular they are with others. I’m thankful that I value my dreams and mildly disdain some facts of the real world.

Thanksgiving is what we make of it, like any holiday right? My friend Marisa was telling me that donating to Native American funds should be a part of Thanksgiving, and she’s right! Let’s give thanks. Yes, many nations have been overthrown and have had their land stolen. However, the fact that conditions on reservations are, at best, awful…well, that’s just not acceptable. It’s 2010 and it’s time to really GIVE thanks.

Native American Heritage Association accepts donations to help provide for families in need on reservations. They “provide food, clothing, heating assistance and self-help programs to the Native American families struggling to make ends meet each month”. This Thanksgiving, make it possible for families in need to have a turkey and other necessities by donating HERE. Here’s to a Happy Thanksgiving for everyone!

What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

