Musical Transportation

28 Sep

Are you ever transported by music?

Sometimes when I’m on the computer I play a song that stops what I’m doing. I put it on repeat and start reading, writing, drawing, or I just lay on the floor or bed and stare into the ceiling. I let do of my active consciousness and allow whatever’s happening to control me. Music has allowed me to create my best artwork and writing. Work I’ve lost in the passage of time that I created this way is a true loss to me, it hurts and when I remember it I feel a little bit emptier. I realize that what I’m doing is putting myself on paper. Pure, unadulterated me. I feel like I’m in a trance. I don’t think about the words or the lines I’m putting down, I just let them happen. I haven’t let myself go like that in a long time. In several years. It’s started happening again in the last couple months though. It happened today. “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” as played by Chris Thomas King. It used to be things like The Replacements, Incubus, stuff like that. Now it’s Person L, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, certain blues or folky songs, still The Replacements though.

Have you ever had a creative floe like that? I could be tired as hell with my eyes hurting and my body sore, but I stay up effortlessly and when I get up in the morning I don’t know where the power came from and I don’t know where I pulled my ideas from. It’s incredible, knowing that somewhere in me is some inexhaustible source of creativity and that I can tap it. This must be the same source that tells me to stick to my guns, to go with my intuition, to refuse to settle for something that isn’t true to myself.

2 Responses to “Musical Transportation”

  1. taristhread September 28, 2010 at 12:59 PM #

    Hi, I had to check out your blog, and you spoke right to me. I’m a writer, and when I write fiction, I let the character’s take over. My husband thinks I’m possessed, but when I let it happen, the words just flow, and I am no longer in my own world, I’m lost in my character’s world. Not quite what you were saying about getting lost in the music and putting yourself on paper, but very similar.

    I do write with music on…..inspiration, background, hmmm

    • dietplaid September 28, 2010 at 1:07 PM #

      Right on! I was actually writing a story the other day and my husband started talking to me. I quickly told him to go away, I was writing. I had to later explain that I don’t like to be interrupted when I am reading, but I HATE being interrupted when I’m writing. Do not disturb the groove!

Leave a Reply

