Baby it’s hot outside

23 Jul

Tomorrow I spend 5 hours herding grocery carts. Not what I imagined I’d be doing after graduating college, but you do what you’ve got to do before something good rolls in, right? Ahem. Well, tomorrow will be hot. I don’t want to know the temperature, but I know it will be HOT. I’ll have two big bottles of cold water at the ready, but when I get home I will want something tasty and cold to unwind with. The answer? Popsicles!

I was reading Orangette’s latest post about popsicles and I agree that popsicles are top. As soon as I saw the recipe she used I thought, “Hey, I could just make a double smoothie and make pops with half of it”, so that is what I am doing. I don’t use a recipe for smoothies, I just filled it 3/4 full of strawberries, blueberries, a banana, frozen raspberries, frozen mango chunks, and frozen cherries. I then pour in about a cup of milk and blend! I always try to use less milk because you can add more, but you can’t take it out. Once it runs smooth I pour myself a glass then fill two small plastic cups and stick half a skewer in each. I topped each off with a bit of half-n-half as well.

While we’re on the topic of smoothies- Have you noticed how many awesome smoothie combinations exist? Truly amazing. They’re healthy, but most importantly they’re delicious. My favorites are:

cucumber, cherry, banana, blueberry

strawberry, banana, mango

strawberry, banana, blueberry, cherry, raspberry, mango, cucumber (yea, pretty much everything)

blackberry, raspberry, blueberry, strawberry, banana

I only a) use yogurt on occasion and I b) use ice maybe a third of the time, which is why a)I always use bananas for texture and I b) use at least half frozen fruit. Yogurt is definitely healthy healthy healthy, but I’m not always a fan of the texture it imparts.

Okay, my smoothie rambling is over. For now. What are some of your favorite smoothie combinations?

One Response to “Baby it’s hot outside”

  1. chad July 23, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

    cucumber and avocado ;)

Leave a Reply

