Bountiful Bounty!

14 Jul

I took some photos of my gardening endeavors the week before I left for Iowa, but in the week that I’ve been gone the tomatoes are turning red faster than we can eat them, the poblanos are getting bigger and more plenty, the green beans are maturing, and the herbs are filling in. No longer are we in the days of going without homegrown basil because the amount for my recipe would kill the plant. I’m looking forward to tomatoes and basil with mozzarella, olive oil, salt and pepper. I can’t wait to try stuffing poblano peppers with some sort of soft cheese. The green beans are destined to cohabit with caramelized onions. I see a tall mojito with fresh spearmint, thyme with lork poin, cilantro in pico de gallo, parsley with potatoes. I anxiously await the verdict on the first tomatillo, which has tripled in size since I left. However please pray/burn sage/bribe someone for the sake of my chives.

Parsley

Basil

Cilantro

Hasta flowers

Mint

Lavender

Clematis

Green Beans

Raspberries

Okay, notice how these raspberries are not the big, mushy, furry ones from the grocery. We have wild raspberry bushes near us so my brothers and I, every July, go out with a giant bowl and forage as many berries as we can reach. They last about an hour, only because I make an effort to make them last. I love passing those bushes on the way to work in the morning and grab a handful to munch on these small, tart jewels. Neighborhood kids sometimes ask us why we’re picking them, because they believe them to be poisonous. Even Mike was apprehensive about them the first time he picked them with us. It seems that many people are uncomfortable with picking their own food and especially with foraging for it. I have to admit though, I secretly want to tell the kids that the berries are poisonous and we use them to make poison. Gotta product the source, ya know?

P.S. No pics of tomatillos, tomatoes, or peppers because it started raining again. Next time!

3 Responses to “Bountiful Bounty!”

  1. MrBluePie July 15, 2010 at 7:36 AM #

    As usual, I am jealous of your photos. I can’t wait to try them all!

  2. Luisa July 15, 2010 at 10:20 AM #

    Nice pics. Can’t wait to try the lork poin. ;)

  3. Captain Dumbass July 16, 2010 at 4:35 AM #

    Blackberries grow like weeds every where around here. Wish people thought they were poisonous.

Leave a Reply

