Sunny Day Happy Warm Cat Day!

5 May

It is so nice outside today! Aside from the grass being cut noisily in our complex it has been very pleasant and I’ve not had to turn on the A/C : bonus.

Since it is so nice I took some photos of my garden progress and other things around here. I’m so excited that my green beans have sprouted so quickly and the cilantro is moving along nicely. Problem though: my basil has sprouted but hasn’t gotten any bigger in a week. I’m not sure what to do. Does it just need more heat? More water? Less water? I have no idea. Similar problem with the mint. Only a couple sprouts out of the 15 seeds  I planted and they haven’t gotten any bigger in over a week. If you can offer some help on this I’d really appreciate it.

Prospering cilantro

Basil? Hello? I give you permission to keep growing…

My beans! They sprout!

I will have salsa verde. Oh, I will.

Okay, I didn’t grow these, but I love marigolds

My mom’s handiwork

Faux flowers I got from a friend upon my engagement

Peaches

Why yes, we do have a Charles Darwin bobble head, what of it?

7 Responses to “Sunny Day Happy Warm Cat Day!”

  1. BluePie May 5, 2010 at 8:19 PM #

    Great pics! Maybe the squirrels got to the basil and mint? Hrm. And how come I never seen that bobblehead before? LoL

    • dietplaid May 5, 2010 at 8:29 PM #

      I don’t think it is the squirrels, because they sprouts aren’t missing, they’re just not getting any bigger. The bobble head is on one of the lower shelves :)

  2. Amy --- Just A Titch May 7, 2010 at 7:04 PM #

    Flowers in a mason jar never fail to look cheerful. So pretty.

    • dietplaid May 10, 2010 at 5:34 PM #

      They definitely make the house more cheerful looking, especially since the temperature has dipped again.

  3. sunny May 9, 2010 at 5:18 AM #

    Everything looks great…I wish I had started cilantro because 80% of the people that came by my farmer’s market booth asked for it…I always grow it but usually try to time it to be ready when the tomatoes are coming on…lesson learned : )

    • dietplaid May 10, 2010 at 5:36 PM #

      Yea, is it just me or does cilantro seem to be trendy now? I do hope that it is just starting to gain a place in food for good though. There was a recipe for salsa at the grocery that used parsley instead of cilantro and it just made me sad.

  4. Crepes of Wrath May 16, 2010 at 2:40 AM #

    I’m so so so so jealous! I wish I could grow something but my kitchen gets no sunlight in my little NYC apartment. Maybe when we move we’ll be able to find a place with a window ledge or a balcony where we can grow some herbs.

Leave a Reply

