Fitness: Weigh- In: I’m awesome

21 Jul

If you look at my little widget to the right you’ll see that I have lost a total of 5 pounds (5.2 to be exact) since I began my journey. Boo yah! Do people even say “booyah” anymore? Whatever, I’m 2 pounds down from last week. Seeing the numbers move makes this all worthwhile.

One downside is that my face is breaking out. You can’t see it, but I can feel lots of little bumps. I’m guessing it’s a result of this obnoxious heat and humidity we’re enduring in PA. I never spent this much time running around outside, so this has never been an issue, but I nearly lost my cool when I realized I was breaking out. This didn’t even happen when I was a teenager! I quickly scrubbed my face with some oatmeal, so hopefully this doesn’t turn into something worse. I’m going to be washing my face much more often now. Has anyone ever had this happen before? Any tips you can offer?

5 Responses to “Fitness: Weigh- In: I’m awesome”

  1. Liz July 21, 2011 at 8:24 AM #

    Maybe your body is just purging itself of impurities. Wash immediately after exercise while pores are wide open. Then splash with water several times a day. Too much washing with product will dry you out and cause you to produce more oil to self-moisturize. When weather cools off, follow up with super light moisturizer… don’t be afraid to moisturize. They even have moisturizers with stuff that kills pimple causing bacteria while simultaneously softening you up. If outside is dry, those dried out cells will actually LOCK the yucky stuff in your pores. In summary… Wash, moisture, splash, splash, splash.

    • dietplaid July 21, 2011 at 10:18 AM #

      Thanks, Liz! I was so good about my skin before I was working out alot, so this is new territory. I’m definitely going to be following this routine now.

  2. Lindsay Nicolo July 21, 2011 at 9:57 AM #

    Make sure you’re washing your face after you work out. Dried sweat can wreak havoc on your pores. I make sure to wash my face twice a day with a noncomedogenic (won’t clog pores) cleanser or mild soap like Dove. You could try applying a little tea tree oil to treat the pimples you have. I have a ton of it if you want to try some. I can’t use it because my skin is too sensitive. Let me know if the oatmeal works out, I’m always looking for new acne remedies :p

    • dietplaid July 21, 2011 at 10:21 AM #

      Thanks, Lindsay! I used to use homemade face scrub, but I haven’t made anymore lately. I think I’ll go back to that. I’d love to try the tree tea oil! I used to use a soap with that in it when I first got my nose pierced because of it’s antimicrobial properties. This will definitely be a new part of my routine.

  3. Michelle July 21, 2011 at 10:00 PM #

    YAY for 2 pounds! And I love boo yah…maybe you’ll bring it back!?
    I’m constantly fighting with breakouts and always have, so i’m no help. Good luck and let us know what works, I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

